Please consider sponsoring Olivia’s care to help us continue helping more French Bulldogs in need like her! Please click the Donate button below!

NOTE: Please note that it may be at *least* a 3-4 week minimum before you hear back from us after submitting an adoption application for any newly available dog.  We typically accept for new applications for a period of 7 days or until 20 applications have been received.  After that time, the applications are sent on to the foster family for review and that usually takes from at *least* a few days to a week to sort through the applications, etc. :-)  We do require phone interviews to be conducted between the foster family and potential adopters, vet reference checks and a home visit to be conducted for all potential adopters, if they are selected as the top choice applicant, which will also take time to complete.   That being said, we do always let our applicants know if they are chosen or not. :-) 

IF you happen to not be chosen, please don't feel discouraged as it can sometimes be very difficult to choose just one adopter.  In those cases, we usually offer to keep the applications for adoption on file for any future dogs that come into our rescue. :-)

ALL adopters are required to come and pick up their adopted dogs in person from the dog's foster home (we do not ship any of our dogs). Please have road/driving transport plans in place to pick up an adopted dog before you apply!  While we are not against adopters flying a foster dog in cabin on a commercial flight, please keep in mind that many are not good candidates for flying due to size and/or being a brachycephalic/short nosed breed. 

If an adopter can not keep one of our grads, for any reason at all, at ANY point in time, they *must* be willing and able to return their adopted dog to his/her original foster home, despite distance and any costs that would be required to do so.

Olivia

French Bulldog

Location:

Age: 3.5 years (DOB: 12/31/2014)
Sex: Female
Weight: 15lbs
Kids: Maybe, respectful kids 12 yrs or older
Cats: No
Dogs: No, no exceptions
Adoption fee: $350.00
Fenced Yard: Preferred, but not required
 


Olivia was surrendered to FBSCR by a private owner.  Olivia started fights with another dog in her previous home on a regular basis when play sessions got a bit too rough and Olivia escalated playing to fighting.   

Olivia is in love with all people she meets!  She wants to be around humans wherever they go and snuggling with her people is one of her absolute favorite activities.  Olivia's foster family reports she is really a sweetheart and always enjoys her people's full one on one attention. Her heart would be full if no other dogs were in the household.  She is insecure around other dogs and this manifests into dog aggression, esp when energy levels are higher (during play times or any excitement in the home), so a home with no other dogs will be required for her.  She has met children as young as 1yrs old and has done well with them, but does not really have the energy for them.  Due to this, a home with older, respectful, dog saavy children 12yrs or older will be preferred for her.  Olivia seems to be a typical loafer Frenchie but does still like to play for short periods of time.  Her foster family continues to work with her and correct unwanted behaviors as needed, she does tend to resource guard things like human attention and toys and does not hesitate to try and start a fight with another dog over something she wants or considers hers. She wouldn’t mind older children being around, but they’d need to be dog savvy and respectful and be able to understand her needs: treating her VERY gently and not treating her as a roughhouse playmate.  Olivia will require a home with a family who can provide firm, consistent leadership and consistent  routine for her.

Olivia has been working on potty training with her foster family but still needs time to improve her skills in this area. She does pretty well with pottying outside if she is kept on a regular schedule when her people are home, but will still sometimes have accidents inside.  Due to the medication she takes for her medical issue (see below paragraph for more information) she requires frequent potty breaks when her family is home during the daytime.  When her family is home, she should be taken outside frequently and consistently (every couple of hours) to aid with potty training. Again, she does not do as well "holding it" due to the drugs she takes for her medical condition.  If her family works away from the home during the daytime, she will need to be let out every 3-4 hours to avoid having accidents in her crate.   She does with crate training when her foster family happens to leave the home and seems comfortable there with a nylabone or two to keep her busy during the daytime.   For her safety, we recommend that she keep a similar crating schedule when her humans are away from the home and/or she is left unsupervised so that she is safe and secure while no one is home.

Medically, Olivia has a condition called Immune Mediated Polyarthritis (IMPA). She requires  Due to this her activity needs to be somewhat limited so as not to put excess stress on her joints. Her potential adopters will need to understand that her medical condition requires them to be diligent in treating her IMPA:  she is on a lifelong Immunosuppressant drug (approx cost is $26 a month for her meds), she needs to have bloodwork done every 6 months, and she must have a minimum of three (and preferably more) potty breaks a day if her family works away from the home.  She is also on a daily joint supplement (Dogzymes Phytoflex) and should also remain on that for the remainder of her lifetime.   Olivia is spayed, is up to date on vaccinations/dewormings and heartworm preventative and has no other known health issues.


Olivia’s ideal home will have a fenced-in yard, and minimal stairs both inside and out to keep her from damaging her joints. If her people did not have a fenced yard, that's okay too, short leashed walks (with the clip attached to a harness, not a collar) would be just fine for her along with some ‘chill with her people in the yard’ time, and Olivia will be a happy pup indeed. Her people will also need to prevent her from jumping off of furniture as much as possible.  Because she needs so many potty breaks, she would also be really happy to live with someone who works from home, although she could be a great pup to take to work so long as she was the only pup there (or can be kept separate from other dogs) and if it was a quiet and easy going work environment. If her people are not able to take her to work with them, no problem - she's completely happy sleeping the day away in her kennel with a nylabone to chew on as long as her people can arrange the necessary multiple mid day potty breaks for her!
 
Olivia is a dear pup who is ready to give her forever family her whole heart.  If you feel like your family might be the perfect forever home for Olivia, please submit an adoption application for her today!!